An efficient bacteriological service, including the examination and classification of pathological tissue, is offered through the central laboratory and the seven branch laboratories, which are situated at appropriate centres throughout the Province.

Consultative service in the field of mental hygiene is made available through clinics that operate throughout the Province. A regular schedule is maintained by these clinics and the profession is urged to take advantage of the service offered.

Manitoba.—Manitoba has an organized Department of Health and Public Welfare. The Health and Public Welfare Act states that the Minister shall preside over and have the management and direction of the Department, and the Department shall have administrative jurisdiction over all matters in the Province that relate to health and public welfare. The various Divisions of the Department include those of: Disease Prevention (food and dairy inspection, public health nursing, sanitation, venereal disease prevention, communicable diseases, industrial hygiene, maternal and child hygiene, health education, and central tuberculosis registry); Provincial Laboratories; Vital Statistics; Hospitalization; Psychiatry (Selkirk and Brandon Hospitals for Mental Diseases, Manitoba School for Mentally Defective Persons at Portage la Prairie, Psychopathic Hospital at Winnipeg); Child Welfare; Administration of Estates of Mentally Incompetent Persons; Fiscal Supervision of Public Institutions; Social Assistance in Unorganized Territory; Supervision of Aged and Infirm Persons (being supported by public funds); and Supervision of Medical Service (supplied by the Province).

The previously established Board of Health and the Welfare Supervision Board have assumed an advisory capacity to the Minister of Health and Public Welfare; the Child Welfare Board is both advisory and administrative, being responsible for the administration of the Child Welfare Act as it pertains to mothers' allowances.

Saskatchewan.—The Department of Public Health has been organized since 1923 under a Minister and a Deputy Minister. The Public Health Act of Saskatchewan also provides for a Public Health Council, consisting of the Deputy Minister as Chairman, three medical practitioners, a veterinary surgeon, and a civil engineer. This Council acts in an advisory capacity to consider new health regulations and allied problems.

The Department is organized into seven Divisions. The Division of Administration, directly under the Deputy Minister who is also the Registrar General, coordinates the activities of the Department as a whole; directs the general policy in public health matters; supervises finances, legislation, hospital grants, municipal boards of health, and medical relief in certain unorganized territories. The Division of Public Health Nursing supervises maternity grants; organizes inspection of school children and home visits, and pre-school and preventive clinics in co-operation with local physicians; and conducts a public health nursing service throughout the Province. The Division of Communicable Disease deals with epidemiology in all its phases and administers the regulations governing cemeteries and care of the Supervision of trachoma, venereal disease, and tuberculosis (other than the organization of the Anti-Tuberculosis League) also comes under this Division. The Division of Sanitation supervises food, water, milk, and ice supplies, sewerage systems, urban and rural sanitation, and the organization of union hospital The Division of Laboratories includes in its organization bacteriology, serology, pathology, chemical analyses, and medico-legal work. The Office of the Registrar General (formerly the Division of Vital Statistics) administers the Vital Statistics Act and the Marriage Act. The system used in classifying vital statistics